Do you want to delete your Gmail account permanently? If so, you’re at the right place. Here, we’ll teach you regarding how to purge your Gmail account from the Internet forever. Read on.
In case you’ve decided that you no longer want to use your Gmail account, you can choose to permanently remove Gmail ID from your Google account. Doing so will delete your emails as well as the information saved within Gmail, including your YouTube uploads and saved attachments. And there’s no way to recover all this content once it’s has been deleted. So, it’s good to back up the files you want to save.
However, Google also offers a built-in tool for doing so. Dubbed as Google Takeout, the tool allows you to download all the important emails from your Gmail account. All you need to do is merely navigate to the Google Takeout link and select data to download. You can even choose to only save emails under certain labels by clicking on All Mail next to the Mail option and choosing labels as per your preferences.
Once done, click on the blue Next button and follow the on-screen prompts to save your inbox content. Now, you’re good to go to delete your Gmail account permanently. In this how-to article, we’ll guide you step by step to get the job done. Shall we start now?
Delete Your Gmail Account Permanently
- First of all, log in to your Gmail account. Click on your profile picture in the top-right corner and select the My Account option
- Under the Accounts Preferences section, click on the Delete your account or services option
- A new window will open. Click on the Delete Products option and sign in to your current Gmail account for the last time. You’ll be accompanied by a list of Google services attached to your account that you can delete
- Click on the Bin icon next to Gmail to disable your Gmail account. Then, enter your email address when prompted, so your other Google accounts like Drive and Photos can remain active
- Once done, you’ll receive an email at the ID you’ve entered. The mail asks you to click on a link and confirm that you want to delete your Gmail account permanently
- Once you click on the link, a confirmation message will appear. After reading it carefully, tick the box at the bottom of the mail and click on the blue Delete Gmail option to continue
Undelete Gmail Account
In case you’ve accidentally delete your Gmail account, you can get it back but you need to be very quick. You’re able to recover your Gmail account within two or three weeks after deletion. In order to undo your delete action, head over to the Google Account Recovery page and follow the on-screen instructions.