Facebook Snooze Button Goes Live: Here’s How to Activate it

0
894
Facebook Snooze Button
Facebook Snooze Button Goes Live: Here’s How to Activate it

Facebook has commenced a new feature, helping you cope up with friends who jam your News Feed with their status updates that you just don’t want to see. Dubbed as Facebook Snooze button, the feature allows you to temporarily unfollow a person, page or group. Let’s dig a little deeper and learn more about the new FB feature.

The social media giant started testing this new feature in September this year and finally, the feature goes live. The Snooze button on FB lets you mute annoying pals for 30 days without notifying them. Once the snooze period ends, Facebook will remind you of start seeing the muted posts again. You can reverse the action at any time by navigating into your Facebook settings. FB’s Product Manager Shruthi Muraleedharan reads,

“With Snooze, you don’t have to unfollow or unfriend permanently, rather just stop seeing someone’s posts for a short period of time. The people, Pages, and groups you snooze will not create notifications or posts in your News. You will be notified before the Snooze period is about to end and the setting can also be reversed at any time.”

If you’re quite eager to try your hands on the new feature, here’s how to activate the button:

In order to activate Snooze button, simply go to the drop-down menu in the top-right corner of the friend’s post you want to mute.

Facebook Snooze Button

In case you don’t see the Facebook Snooze button in your News Feed just yet, don’t panic as the Company is rolling out the button for all users this week. Facebook already boast options such as Hide, Unfollow, See First, and Report to manage content that you view from different sources on the platform. The new functionality essentially gives you a 30-day window to tamper with your decision that becomes permanent with the Unfollow button.

Facebook Snooze button is a smart way to dial down the content you don’t want to see on your FB wall, without having to fully unfollow or unfriend someone. For FB Pages and Groups, the feature helps retain less active users who may have otherwise unliked pages or have left the group to shun their content.

Recently, a former FB executive has talked about the negative impact of social media on society by claiming that the social media use can be bad for users’ mental health. On the other hand, the Company stated that actively interacting with people on social media can lead to enhancements in well-being.

You may also like: How to Fix a Hacked Facebook Account with Ease

Summary
Article Name
Facebook Snooze Button Goes Live: Here’s How to Activate it
Description
Dubbed as Facebook Snooze button, the feature allows you to temporarily unfollow a person, page or group. Let’s dig a little deeper and learn more.
Author
Publisher Name
NextGeekers
Publisher Logo
SHARE
Previous articleHow to Quickly Fix macOS Root Security Bug
Next articleHow to Get WhatsApp on Your Tablet
Rajni Kapil is a professional writer, writing online content for a considerably long time. She has an undying passion for technology and keeps herself abreast of the latest developments in the field. When not writing, she enjoys music, dancing, writing poetry, and most importantly bringing smile to everyone’s face.